Loading... Please wait...
  • Cover Image


US$39.39 (inc GST) US$34.26 (exc GST)
Calculated at checkout

Product Description

Christos HatzisArabesque (Solo Violin & String Orchestra)
Solo Violin, Piano & String Orchestra

A facsimile copy of the composer's manuscript of this work is available for purchase as a study score for reference and study. This material is a copy of the original composer's manuscript and is not edited or formatted for publication. This service is only available to individuals and may not be resold. (Retailers, trade customers, institutions and libraries with requests for this work, please advise your customers and patrons to contact us directly for availability: info@promethean-editions.com). The provision of this service, and/or circulation of copies of the manuscript, does not constitute the copy as a publication or published edition under the New Zealand Copyright Act 1994.

This Facsimile Edition is a spiral-bound full score book.

About the work:

The composer writes: 'In many respects, Arabesque, for violin, piano and string orchestra, is an autobiographical work, but its four movements can also be seen as a metaphorical depiction of four stages of one’s life cycle, starting with the childhood purity and innocence of the first movement, through the rambunctious, disco-like exuberance of the second, in which the first seeds of introspection are also sown, to the introverted moody, coming-of-age third movement and, finally, to the defiant refusal to surrender in the finale, which at the very end nods briefly to the main theme of the first movement. (This “nod” signifies the re-discovery of the innocence of childhood and the understanding that only through such rediscovery is it possible to move forward and grow further). The various contradictory musical genres coexisting in Arabesque point to a post-“post-modern” understanding of structure as metaphor: of some lessons learned; of some wisdom gained; of willingness to apply all this towards renewed action.'

Visit the publisher's website for more information about the work and Facsimile Edition.



Product Details

Christos Hatzis
Softback Score

Find Similar Products by Category

Product Reviews

This product hasn't received any reviews yet. Be the first to review this product!

Write your own product review

Customers Who Viewed This Product Also Viewed

Recent Updates

Sign up to our newsletter

Connect with us: Facebook LinkedIn Twitter