Loading... Please wait...
  • Cover Image


US$39.39 (inc GST) US$34.26 (exc GST)
Calculated at checkout

Product Description

Gareth FarrBintang (2 Pianos & 8 Hands)
2 Piano & 8 Hands

A facsimile copy of the composer's manuscript of this work is available for purchase as a study score for reference and study. This material is a copy of the original composer's manuscript and is not edited or formatted for publication. This service is only available to individuals and may not be resold. (Retailers, trade customers, institutions and libraries with requests for this work, please advise your customers and patrons to contact us directly for availability: 
info@promethean-editions.com). The provision of this service, and/or circulation of copies of the manuscript, does not constitute the copy as a publication or published edition under the New Zealand Copyright Act 1994.

This Facsimile Edition is a spiral-bound full score book and 4 paperback parts.

About the work:

The foundation of this five and a half minute work is a recurring odd-metered theme derived from an altered version of the super locrian scale, also known as the “altered” or “Ravel” scale. The altered version of this scale consists of a flattened second, fourth and fifth scale degree of the super locrian scale, along with the added flattened seventh scale degree which appears in the work’s recurring theme. Farr has chosen this scale, also associated with French ‘Impressionism’, resulting in an intriguing work that reflects the exoticism of Indonesia, from which the word Bintang comes, while maintaining the distinctive dynamic style of the composer.

After standing out in the upper register in the opening, Bintang’s recurring theme, in its entirety, is embedded in the middle register throughout the remainder of the work, subtly embedding itself in the memory. Melodic fragments of the theme, superimposed dyadic and triadic chords and upper-register arabesque writing take turns at surfacing from, and submerging into, the work’s texture as its dark emotional quality takes on more dynamism and drama.

The recurring middleground theme, held by one player throughout the work, is punctuated with attack and sustained chordal gestures that alternate within the lower register of one piano, which triggers a response in the higher register of another. The resulting polyphonic texture, produced by combining these chordal gestures with florid writing in the upper register, moves in exciting waves of tension and release, propelling the work forward. The undulating quality of the arabesque writing expands, doubling in thirds with all eight hands being utilised. Both pianos carry this smooth wave-like ascending and descending progression between the lower and upper registers.

Visit the publisher's website for more information about the work and the Facsimile Edition.

Product Details

Gareth Farr
Softback Score & 4 Parts

Find Similar Products by Category

Product Reviews

This product hasn't received any reviews yet. Be the first to review this product!

Write your own product review

Customers Who Viewed This Product Also Viewed

Recent Updates

Sign up to our newsletter

Connect with us: Facebook LinkedIn Twitter