Loading... Please wait...
  • Cover Image

Collected Edition Vol.4

NZ$111.55 (inc GST) NZ$97.00 (exc GST)
Usually ships within 24 hours
Calculated at checkout

Product Description

Larry PrudenCollected Edition - Volume 4 (Chamber Orchestra)
Works for Chamber Orchestra

This set of works is published as full scores within a perfect-bind book for reference and study. The scores in the Collected Edition are based on Pruden's underlying autograph or holograph manuscripts, which have been consulted extensively throughout the editorial process. Comparison has been made to all extant forms of each title, published and unpublished. In some cases, several variants exist, and the goal has been to determine as far as possible the composer's final intention and to convey this comprehensively in the published score. Emendations have been made to account for the composer's revisions and for certain errors and inconsistencies, and each volume includes a short commentary and editorial notes on the source materials.

This volume includes:

Evening Music for a Summer School

Summer Nocturnes

Santa Lucia

About the volume:

Over the span of his composing career, Larry Carrol Pruden (1925-82) completed some 60 works, including music for piano, chamber ensemble, orchestra, stage and film. The scope of the ten-volume Collected Edition incorporates every work that the composer is known to have considered complete, and a very few incomplete works which the editors felt warranted inclusion. The works in the latter category are either virtually complete or have been deemed worthy of inclusion due to the significance that the composer is known to have attached to them.

Throughout Pruden's output, whether the music is modest in scale and purely functional (civic fanfares and radio advertising jingles, for example) or more extended and overtly 'serious' in tone (such as the larger works for orchestra and strings), his vivid response to urban society and rural life in New Zealand is revealed. With Douglas Lilburn, John Ritchie and others, Larry Pruden belongs to the earliest generation of New Zealand composers to discover a genuine vernacular, and in his music is reflected the trail-blazing spirit of the pioneers, their passion for creativity and their rebelliousness of spirit.

Two of the three works contained in this volume, Evening Music for a Summer School and Summer Nocturnes were written for early music schools at Cambridge, while the arrangement of Santa Lucia belongs to the last year of Pruden's creativity.

Visit the Publisher's website for more information about the work and publication.

Product Details

Larry Pruden

Find Similar Products by Category

Product Reviews

This product hasn't received any reviews yet. Be the first to review this product!

Write your own product review

Customers Who Viewed This Product Also Viewed

Recent Updates

Sign up to our newsletter

Connect with us: Facebook LinkedIn Twitter