Loading... Please wait...
  • Image 1

Collected Edition Vol.6A

NZ$148.35 (inc GST) NZ$129.00 (exc GST)
Usually ships within 48 hours
Calculated at checkout

Product Description

Larry Pruden: Collected Edition - Volume 6A (Orchestra)
Orchestral Music (I)

This set of works is published as full scores within a perfect-bind book for reference and study. The scores in the Collected Edition are based on Pruden's underlying autograph or holograph manuscripts, which have been consulted extensively throughout the editorial process. Comparison has been made to all extant forms of each title, published and unpublished. In some cases, several variants exist, and the goal has been to determine as far as possible the composer's final intention and to convey this comprehensively in the published score. Emendations have been made to account for the composer's revisions and for certain errors and inconsistencies, and each volume includes a short commentary and editorial notes on the source materials.

This volume includes:

The Antipodes

Harbour Nocturne

Lambton Quay

About the volume:

Over the span of his composing career, Larry Carrol Pruden (1925-82) completed some 60 works, including music for piano, chamber ensemble, orchestra, stage and film. The scope of the ten-volume Collected Edition incorporates every work that the composer is known to have considered complete, and a very few incomplete works which the editors felt warranted inclusion. The works in the latter category are either virtually complete or have been deemed worthy of inclusion due to the significance that the composer is known to have attached to them. 
Throughout Pruden's output, whether the music is modest in scale and purely functional (civic fanfares and radio advertising jingles, for example) or more extended and overtly 'serious' in tone (such as the larger works for orchestra and strings), his vivid response to urban society and rural life in New Zealand is revealed. With Douglas Lilburn, John Ritchie and others, Larry Pruden belongs to the earliest generation of New Zealand composers to discover a genuine vernacular, and in his music is reflected the trail-blazing spirit of the pioneers, their passion for creativity and their rebelliousness of spirit.
After three years of scholarship, the first of three volumes of orchestral music by Larry Pruden is released for sale. This sixth volume includes his quintessential works The Antipodes, Harbour Nocturne and Lambton Quay, each of which reveals the voice of a composer celebrating the direct and open experience of life. Through each of these works runs a vibrant sense of New Zealand, but whereas The Antipodes is an anthem to national pride, Harbour Nocturne and Lambton Quay are regional hymns that are drawn with affection but without a blurring sentimentality. This sixth edition of the Larry Pruden Collected Edition has been edited from extant source material and brings these essential works of Pruden into an elegant and definitive format.

Visit the Publisher's website for more information about the works and publication.


Product Details

Larry Pruden

Find Similar Products by Category

Product Reviews

This product hasn't received any reviews yet. Be the first to review this product!

Write your own product review

Customers Who Viewed This Product Also Viewed

Recent Updates

Sign up to our newsletter

Connect with us: Facebook LinkedIn Twitter