Loading... Please wait...
  • Cover Image

Concerto for Percussion & Orchestra

NZ$28.75 (inc GST) NZ$25.00 (exc GST)
Calculated at checkout

Product Description

Gareth FarrConcerto for Percussion & Orchestra (Percussion & Orchestra)
Four Percussion Soli & Orchestra

A facsimile copy of the composer's manuscript of this work is available for purchase as a study score for reference and study. This material is a copy of the original composer's manuscript and is not edited or formatted for publication. This service is only available to individuals and may not be resold. (Retailers, trade customers, institutions and libraries with requests for this work, please advise your customers and patrons to contact us directly for availability: info@promethean-editions.com). The provision of this service, and/or circulation of copies of the manuscript, does not constitute the copy as a publication or published edition under the New Zealand Copyright Act 1994.

This Facsimile Edition is a spiral-bound full score book.

About the work:

The Concerto for Percussion & Orchestra, for four percussion soloists, is in two main movements, with a Prelude and Interlude for the orchestra alone. The Prelude introduces the main theme of the work – heard in the orchestral timpani part – from which much of the rest of the concerto is melodically derived.

pianissimo dialogue between the two marimbas, the tom toms (played with brushes) and the violins opens the first movement. This delicate texture gives way to bombastic flourishes from the brass, leading to the central culminating section in which the four solo percussionists literally ‘migrate’ across the stage to the Japanese taiko drums. The quiet, delicate texture returns to end the movement.

The Interlude is a reorchestration of the Prelude, the theme transferred from one of the loudest instruments of the orchestra, the timpani, to one of the quietest, the celesta.

The second movement and concluding Finale concentrate primarily on the rhythms and punchy sounds of the Rarotongan log drums. At the conclusion, the timpani once again presents the main theme, and the work ends in the wild energetic roar of the 
fortissimo drumming of the four orchestral and four solo percussionists.

Visit the publisher's website for more information about the work and Facsimile Edition.

Product Details

Gareth Farr
Softback Score

Find Similar Products by Category

Product Reviews

This product hasn't received any reviews yet. Be the first to review this product!

Write your own product review

Customers Who Viewed This Product Also Viewed

Recent Updates

Sign up to our newsletter

Connect with us: Facebook LinkedIn Twitter