Loading... Please wait...
  • Cover image


NZ$28.75 (inc GST) NZ$25.00 (exc GST)
Calculated at checkout

Product Description

Gareth FarrFrenzy (String Ensemble)
String Quartet 

A facsimile copy of the composer's manuscript of this work is available for purchase as a study score for reference and study. This material is a copy of the original composer's manuscript and is not edited or formatted for publication. This service is only available to individuals and may not be resold. (Retailers, trade customers, institutions and libraries with requests for this work, please advise your customers and patrons to contact us directly for availability: The provision of this service, and/or circulation of copies of the manuscript, does not constitute the copy as a publication or published edition under the New Zealand Copyright Act 1994.

This Facsimile Edition is a spiral-bound full score book.

About the work:

The composer writes of his third string quartet, Frenzy (originally enititled Fracturing Frenzies), ‘this is a high-energy piece with a strong emphasis on rhythm, jaunty phrasings and gritty harmonies. After a short episode of tonality and pretty tunes in (String Quartet No.2) Mondo Rondo, I felt the need to go back to my old tricks. However, it was with an altered perception of my own style, as one would feel when returning home after many years away. Everything seems so familiar, yet at the same time time changed by the intervening experience of the world.

‘As the name of the piece suggests, it is somewhat crazed in character, and is more in the style of 
Owhiro (String Quartet No.1). It is structured in a rondo-variation form – one which I like a great deal and use frequently. I enjoy getting accustomed to a subject and then going somewhere completely different, but periodically throughout the piece revisiting the subject, each time looking for a new undiscovered facet, an unexplored perspective.

‘There is a great deal of contrast between the deployment of the quartet as one instrument or one mind, and the treatment of the four players as soloists, each asserting their own personalities. The piece flies by at a terrific rate, and it's all over and done with in a flash – but then I think you say more when you spend less time saying it.’

Visit the publisher's website for more information about the work and Facsimile Edition.

Product Details

Gareth Farr
Softback Score

Product Reviews

This product hasn't received any reviews yet. Be the first to review this product!

Write your own product review

Customers Who Viewed This Product Also Viewed

Recent Updates

Sign up to our newsletter

Connect with us: Facebook LinkedIn Twitter