Loading... Please wait...
  • Cover Image
  • Cover Image


US$30.25 (inc GST) US$26.30 (exc GST)
Calculated at checkout

Product Description

John PsathasGyftiko (Solo Strings)
Solo Violin

About the work:

This work for solo violin by John Psathas is expressive and virtuosic. Gyftiko, which translates as ‘gypsy-like’, was commissioned for the 2011 Michael Hill International Violin Competition. The first prize winner was Russian violinist Sergey Malov, who has since performed Gyftiko on tour in New Zealand. The work was written for performers to express individual style as well as demonstrate technical command of the violin. It has an improvisatory quality with exciting technical features including: portamenti, fast rhythmic and melismatic lines, left-hand pizzicato and double-stops. Gyftiko reveals Psathas’ unique musical voice. He brings together influences from Eastern Europe Greece and the Middle-East. Much is packed into this five- minute work for solo violin. It is perfect for players at the top of their game who want to exhilarate audiences with virtuosic flare.

Visit the publisher's website for more information about the work.


Product Details

John Psathas
Softback Score & Looseleaf Part

Find Similar Products by Category

Product Reviews

This product hasn't received any reviews yet. Be the first to review this product!

Write your own product review

Customers Who Viewed This Product Also Viewed

Recent Updates

Sign up to our newsletter

Connect with us: Facebook LinkedIn Twitter