Loading... Please wait...
  • Cover Image

Little Sea Gongs

NZ$33.35 (inc GST) NZ$29.00 (exc GST)
Usually ships within 24 hours
Calculated at checkout

Product Description

Gareth FarrLittle Sea Gongs (Percussion Ensemble)
Percussion Quartet

This work is published for performance and study. The performance set (choose Parts) includes four loose-leaf part sets for the four percussionists and this work can be performed without a full score. The full score can be purchased individually for study or reference (choose Score only).

About the work:

Little Sea Gongs is a miniature companion-piece to From the Depths Sound the Great Sea Gongs, a major work composed for the New Zealand Symphony Orchestra which incorporates the visual spectacle of three percussionists playing a line of ten roto toms. The drumming style is very much inspired by Rarotongan log drumming and is fast, furious and very loud.

Little Sea Gongs started as a short drumming piece to end the composer's stage show Drumdrag. Like the larger work, it was intended to be a Rarotongan-style composition, but played on western drums. It was never notated, and was intended to be flexible in its instrumentation - the drummers would simply play on whatever instruments they happened to have handy. The number of performers also varied from three to seven players.

The present quartet arrangement of
Little Sea Gongs was made at the request of Murray Hickman of the percussion ensemble Strike, and has since become one of the group's most frequently performed pieces.

Visit the Publisher's website for more information about the work and publication.

Product Details

Gareth Farr
Score Format:
Score ISMN:
Score Pages:
Score ISBN:
Parts ISMN:

Product Reviews

This product hasn't received any reviews yet. Be the first to review this product!

Write your own product review

Customers Who Viewed This Product Also Viewed

Recent Updates

Sign up to our newsletter

Connect with us: Facebook LinkedIn Twitter