Loading... Please wait...
  • Cover Image
  • Image 2

Piano Music Vol.2

US$38.00 (inc GST) US$33.05 (exc GST)
Usually ships within 1-2 weeks
Calculated at checkout

Product Description

Douglas LilburnPiano Music 2 (Piano) 

This set of works is published as a saddle-stitched performance score book for performance and study.

This volume includes:

Six Short Pieces (1962-63)

Sonata for Piano in A Minor (1939)

Moths and Candles

About the volume:

This second volume of Lilburn’s complete piano music comprises his experimental ‘Six Short Pieces’ (1962-63), his early Sonata for Piano in A Minor (1939) and the miniature Moths and Candles (1948). Adding to Lilburn’s collection of short pieces for piano, unfettered by the constraints of longer structures, Six Short Pieces shows the simple and sensuous motifs of Lilburn’s work coming together in precisely adjusted balance. Sonata for Piano in A Minor was written during the period of Lilburn’s tuition in London with Ralph Vaughan Williams. Grounded by a strong structural sense, the sonata combines the influence of the New Zealand landscape with romanticism, reflecting what Lilburn described as an ‘intense individual expression of emotion’.  Subtitled ‘a dance for children’, Moths and Candles is a miniature work that was written for the documentary film Infant Schools. In this work, Lilburn simulates the tinkle of a musical box, the recurring tune rotating like a clockwork ballerina. This publication features music by one of New Zealand’s most renowned composers while he was studying with Ralph Vaughan Williams, revealing both Lilburn’s early influence and later style.

Visit the Publisher's website for more information about the work and publication.



Product Details

Douglas Lilburn
Softback Score

Product Reviews

This product hasn't received any reviews yet. Be the first to review this product!

Write your own product review

Customers Who Viewed This Product Also Viewed

Recent Updates

Sign up to our newsletter

Connect with us: Facebook LinkedIn Twitter