Loading... Please wait...
  • Cover Image

Pleasant Pieces, Book 1

NZ$29.90 (inc GST) NZ$26.00 (exc GST)
Calculated at checkout

Product Description

Edwin CarrPleasant Pieces, Book 1 (Solo Piano)
Solo Piano 

This set of works is published as a saddle-stitched performance score book.

About the works:

I Nocturne in C major – The title came first into the composer’s mind as a challenge to write a melodic piece in a rather unromantic key. With the title came the necessity to write an arabesque version of the main theme as a gesture to Field and Chopin.

II The Chase – Children in a mock-serious game of chase and catch. Finally they vanish over a sand-hill.

III The Taming – A heated argument between two people, one calm and collected, the other temperamental. In the end they come to an amicable agreement.

IV Reflections – This piece of ‘water music’ is both an impression and an expression of the other meaning of the word, to meditate. Pedal effects are important, and a near-quotation from Debussy’s ‘Reflets dans l’eau’ (Images) is an obvious homage to that composer.

V Caprice – Unexpected changes of mood characterise this piece. There is a sudden Dionysian climax midway, and a leading-back to the opening phrases to finish.

Visit the Publisher's website for more information about the works and publication.

Product Details

Edwin Carr
Softback Score

Find Similar Products by Category

Product Reviews

This product hasn't received any reviews yet. Be the first to review this product!

Write your own product review

Customers Who Viewed This Product Also Viewed

Recent Updates

Sign up to our newsletter

Connect with us: Facebook LinkedIn Twitter