Loading... Please wait...
  • Image 1

Ritchie: Symphony No.1 (‘Boum’)

US$117.39 (inc GST) US$102.08 (exc GST)
Usually ships within 48 hours
Calculated at checkout

Product Description

Anthony Ritchie: Symphony No.1 (‘Boum’) (Orchestral) 
Symphony Orchestra 

This work is published as a perfect bind full score for reference and study.

About the work:

Completed while Ritchie was Composer-in-Residence with the Dunedin Sinfonia in 1993, Boum is named after a mysterious echo heard by characters in E.M. Forster’s novel A Passage to India. The echo comes to symbolise the mysteries of life and death, and was a starting point to a general theme of existentialism and human struggle that pervades Ritchie’s symphony.

An eclectic range of influences can be heard across Boum’s four movements. A languid, Eastern-sounding violin theme in the first movement is influenced by gamelan music, referencing the pelog scale. Inspired by traditional music of the Cook Islands, the jaunty second movement is a vigorous scherzo dominated by the sound of log-drum and tom-toms. The third movement is a lament for the victims of the Bosnian war, its evocative opening inspired by the wailing of a Maori karanga, while the fourth movement can be thought of as a symphonic dance, its pulse and motivic ideas reminiscent of rock music.

Visit the Publisher's website for more information about the work and publication.

Product Details

Anthony Ritchie
Study Score
978-1-877564-86-4 (print)
978-1-77660-614-6 (eBook)

Find Similar Products by Tag

Product Reviews

This product hasn't received any reviews yet. Be the first to review this product!

Write your own product review

Customers Who Viewed This Product Also Viewed

Recent Updates

Sign up to our newsletter

Connect with us: Facebook LinkedIn Twitter