Loading... Please wait...
  • Image 1

String Quartet No.3

US$58.17 (inc GST) US$50.58 (exc GST)
Usually ships within 24 hours
Calculated at checkout

Product Description

David FarquharString Quartet No.3 (Chamber Ensemble)
String Quartet

This work is published for performance and study. This publication includes a saddle-stitched full score booklet for reference and study and a set of four saddle-stitched part booklets for performance.

About the work:

The composer writes: ‘This String Quartet and a work for solo guitar, Prospero Dreaming, were both composed in 1998, immediately after I had completed the vocal score of Enchanted Island, an opera based on Shakespeare’s The Tempest. Material from the opera pervades this work.

‘The opening first violin line – a twisting, rising phrase ending in three repeated notes – provides most of the material for the first movement. The mood shifts, sometimes brooding, sometimes animated, and the rhythms veer between 6/8, 3/4 and 3/2, both alternating and in combination.

‘The second movement is based on material associated with Ariel, the fairy held captive by Prospero to execute his magic. He longs to be free again. Speed and capriciousness are of his essence, and these characteristics are both reflected in this scherzando movement, which concludes with his final heavenward escape.

‘The final movement is Prospero’s. It begins with his “motto” theme that provides a basis for a series of variations. These culminate in an apotheosis in which the conflicts of the opera are resolved, the twisting lines of the opening of the quartet now leading ever upwards.’

Visit the Publisher's website for more information about the work and publication.

Product Details

David Farquhar
Score & Parts
Publication Date:

Product Reviews

This product hasn't received any reviews yet. Be the first to review this product!

Write your own product review

Customers Who Viewed This Product Also Viewed

Recent Updates

Sign up to our newsletter

Connect with us: Facebook LinkedIn Twitter